27
May
09

Artistic endeavours

I spent much of Sunday drawing buttercups. It wouldn’t have taken me so long to do the drawings if I’d just read the Swap requirements, but I think I’m so used to creating ATCs that I just had it in my mind that that was what I had to do. So, I got my tablet out and did a digital painting of a buttercup, and I’m quite pleased with it. The only trouble was that when I re-read the requirements, I was supposed to do a much larger sketch. I think I had asked previously if I could do a digital, one, so that part was ok, but it needed to be much bigger. Ok, so I could have enlarged it and printed off a bigger version, but that didn’t seem like playing the game. So…I toddled off to find my pencils and watercolour crayons, and a sketch pad, and created another sketch.

Well, this one was ok too, until I decided to colour it. It actually looked much better as a pencil drawing. As soon as I put colour to it, it looked awful. By now I was running out of time, and still had a card to make for the swap, so I decided to leave it. All I did was laminate it to stop it tearing, and cut it to size. Then I set about making a card, having had a brainwave when I saw the blank card stock. Why not do another buttercup for the card, just to prove that I can draw? So, Buttercup number three followed, which was very good until I decided it would look better if inked over. It didn’t! I finished off, pretty disillusioned by now, by drawing three more mini buttercups in a left hand margin, and left it at that.

And the lesson learned? Don’t leave your swaps till the last minute. Do them straightaway, so that you have plenty of time to red0 them, and redo them…and …

See what you think..

 

Buttercup ATC 1

 

Buttercup card

Buttercup sketch

3 Responses to “Artistic endeavours”


  1. May 29, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Susie, I think all your buttercups look marvellous – much better than I could ever do!!

  2. November 28, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I think they’re all lovely!


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

