08
May
09

Beanies and Berets

It’s a long time since I made a hat. When my children were little I seemed to be forever knitting hats, balaclavas (remember them?) and a weird and wonderful assortment of gloves and mittens. Hats with pom poms, tassles, ears; gloves with lacy trims, whiskers and noses, and fur cuffs. Those were the days! So when I had the oppoerunity to join a hat swap group on Ravelry, I grabbed it, thinking it would be a good short term project. I relished the choice of patterns I knew I’d find on Ravelry. All I had to do was wait until I was assigned a partner and then ask her for her design prefences and colours and yarns. Likewise I had to think about my own prefences.

I made a beanie as requested for my partner. I used a pattern called Christina’s Beanie  and embellished it with my own flower and leaves. I hope she liked it.

hat 1

Meanwhile I received a wonderful beret from my other swap partner in Canada. She chose a wonderful pattern, and the perfect colour. I asked for a raspberry colourway, but never dreamed she’d manage to get the exact colour of my coat. It’s a perfect match and so pretty. It’s also lovely and soft and warm. Almost makes me regret it’s spring as I’ll have to wait until the end of the year before I can wear it. Not only did my partner make me a beautiful beret, but she sent a parcel full of goodies. It was like Christmas all over again. One of the items in the parcel was some Rooibos tea. It smelled lovely so I put some in the pot and had a cup without milk, and then one with milk. I liked them both, but do prefer it with milk. It’s Rooibos spicy chai and it tastes gorgeous. I will definitely be getting some more. Thank you so much Melinda,  for your generous parcel and my lovely hat. I am well chuffed.

hat

My hat!

 

My hat!.5jpgMy hat!.6jpg

0 Responses to “Beanies and Berets”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

