13
Sep
08

Sawmill on the doorstep

Poor Guliver woke up to loud sawing noises yesterday. He didn’t know it was a saw. In fact he thought it was a drill because it squeeked, but either way, he was not a happy bear. We went outside to see what was making the noise and discovered that a neighbour had bought in the tree surgeon who was cutting down a tree. Once I explained to Guliver what was happening, he was fascinated and asked if he could sit on the doorstep and watch. There was a funny machine that looked a bit like an old fashioned combine harvester, which I think must have been for shredding the smaller branches and leaves. Guliver watched and pondered for a while, surmising that if he’d been born in Austrailia he would have been better at climbing because he would have been a Kaola bear. I said that I thought most bears could climb trees and he would probably be able to as well. He said he thought he’s quite like to be a tree surgeon, but then that would mean cutting down trees, and then there would be no trees for bears to climb. I couldn’t argue with his logic. Guliver is a thoughtful bear, quite deep!

 

     

Guliver thought he might look cool in a yellow hard hat. I assured him that he would, especially if he got a yellow ribbon to match the hat!

Today has been very quiet for Gulliver. We are getting ready for our holiday so didn’t have a chance to take him to explore Aberdeen. I told him all about the place we are going to and I think he is impressed. He was concerned because he thought we were leaving the cats by themselves. But I explained that someone was coming to stay and look after them for us. He has become great friends with two of the cats, BearCat and Jiffers. BearCat even slept next to Guliver. In the photo it looks like he slept on him, but he wasn’t touching him. I could hear them both gently snoring.

Tomorrow will be a long drive, so we are going to bed shortly. I told Guliver to get an early night because tomorrow will be a busy day, with lots to see! So retired a couple of hours ago.

I may have difficulty getting online whilst away…we’ll see, but I’ll do my best to keep Guliver’s family informed of his adventures 🙂

0 Responses to “Sawmill on the doorstep”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

