09
Sep
08

Bruno is on his way…to London

Bruno has begun his European tour! As we speak he is on his way to London to visit the first of ten other bears’ homes and families. He was so excited but was not happy about going into his travelling bag. I had great difficulty getting him in and it really upset me too, but I assured him that once he began his travels he would feel much better and would have a great time.

As you can see he took his passport…     

 

and his journal,

so that folk could write him little messages as keepsakes…         

I made him a new backpack, (a second one as OH said it didn’t look like a backpack) and a scarf and hat. The hat is a little too short, but I was running out of time, so decided to leave it be. I put buckles on his backpack, and a pocket on the outside, and decorated it with a bear embellishment, which was really totally the wrong colour, but Bruno thought it was ok, and he’s the one using it!

                

 I also made a magnet for each of the bears families, with a picture of Bruno, so they can remember his visit, and an identity pendant, same photo, with details of my contact email addresses which he wears around his neck, but slightly hidden by his scarf.

              

I hope Bruno has everything he needs. Hopefully he will arrive in London tomorrow, or Wednesday. I can’t wait to hear that he is safe!

The travelling bear round robin is organised by one of the groups on Ravelry which is a website for knitters and crochet freaks, like me 🙂

9 Responses to “Bruno is on his way…to London”


  1. 1 Sally
    September 9, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Hi Kimmikat

    Just love the photos of Bruno – he looks so smart! The backpack is awesome, and his scarf and hat look very cosy! You’re a very talented lady – just been having a browse through your blog -I enjoy cardmaking too and have tried to make ATCs but never seem to have enough time for all the crafts I would like to do!

    Look forward to welcoming Bruno to Scotland when it’s my turn!

    Hugs, Sallyxx

  2. September 9, 2008 at 8:31 am

    I just love Bruno & I hope he has a safe journey!! I adore all his little bits & pieces too!!

  3. 3 kaet
    September 9, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Wow, Bruno looks well prepared! I’m very much looking forward to meeting him in person, and will let you know when he arrives. (My flatmate is home this week, so he should have no trouble getting in!) I’ll make sure he gets a good welcome, to help him get over any travel trauma.

    Kate

  4. 4 kimmikat
    September 9, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Hi Sally! Thanks for popping by 🙂 Crafting is very time consuming. Apart from knitting I didn’t do anything when the children were at home, and even then, I was knitting their clothes(and I also sewed). It has taken me years to collect enough stuff to make reasonable cards, although it has to be said I use quite a bit of recycled materials now too.
    I am looking forward to meeting your little friend too. They will be an experienced traveller by the time they get to me lol.
    Susie.

  5. 5 kimmikat
    September 9, 2008 at 11:52 am

    Hi Dianne. Glad you approve of Bruno’s preparations. I’ll catch you on CC soon! 🙂
    Susie.

  6. 6 kimmikat
    September 9, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Hi Kaet.
    Thank you for your lovely comments. The crochet and knitting was a bit rushed as you will see at close quarters soon, but it serves the purpose and Bruno said it was fine. His hat does fall off though as it isn’t deep enough, He says his ears are furry and keep warm by themselves, so if it falls off too many times he will leave it off. He told me he was looking forward to meeting you, especially as you are the co-ordinator. He has an envelope especially for you!
    Safe journeying,
    Susie.

  7. September 9, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Bon voyage, Bruno – enjoy your journey. 🙂

  8. 8 kimmikat
    September 9, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I’m sure he will. I am a little worried about him getting lost, but I am trying not to think about it! Thanks, Kell 🙂


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

