Archive for August 28th, 2008

28
Aug
08

Anyone for gingham?

A few weeks ago I decided to host a swap on Swap-bot. Since I am a big fan of gingham, I thought I would host a swap for it, and eventually chose to host a papercraft swap and a sewing swap. The papercraft swap has now closed for sign up, and only has eight participants. This was a bit disappointing but I still think potentially it has the chance to be a good swap. This was the picture I used to illustrate the swap page. All the items in the picture were made by me to give examples of things that could be made for the swap.

 

       There are cards of various shapes and sizes, ATCs and bookmarks, but there is so much you can do…it is only limited by imagination and the papercraft criteria.

 

The other swap is still open to sign up for, (for a few days only). Again I am disappointed with the take-up. There are only five participants as I write this. Its all about sewing something in gingham, or with a large part gingham. It could be a toy, or clothing, or something for the house, or a gift even. I haven’t decided what I will make. I will decide on something according to my partners profile, but I have bought or been given lots of gingham fabric and ribbon.

 

28
Aug
08

There are fairies at the bottom of my garden…

One of the things I love about Swap-bot is the sheer variety of swaps on offer. It can be ATCs, fabric, postcards, letters, mobiles, magnets and so many other types. The list is endless, let alone the themes! One I just finished is for two fairy ATCs. These are the resulting ATCs. I did an extra which is just butterflies, but matched! They are great fun to do.

            

        

Even more fun was a swap I did about a month ago which was themed Gnomes, owls and fairies. This was a matchbox decorated in this theme, and containing miniature ATCs. I loved this, once I had got used to how fiddly it could be. These are some of the results…

 As you can see, I got carried away and did more than the required six mini ATCs! This was the matchbox I decorated and sent them in.

 

 

 

28
Aug
08

Little blue beaded bag

I decided to use some beads to decorate my next creation. It’s a little blue crochet bag, draw-string, with ribbon and beads. I used complimentary coloured seed beads around the top to trim it and added some bigger filigree beads to the ribbon, to make it look slightly more eligant. It was made with crochet cotton…not sure what brand, as I lost the label, but it was a lovely 2ply worsted cotton to work with. I am thinking of making some more of these in christmas colours to stuff full of goodies, for gifts.




okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!