21
May
08

Time flies…

I can’t believe it has been so long since I’ve been on here. Time goes so quickly! I have been busy clearing out the back room where I keep all my craft stuff so that I have space for my sewing machine and putting anything I can, linenwise into vacuum sealed bags to save as much space as possble. It’s great to watch a quilt shrivel up before your eyes and become about a third of it’s original size. Quite a space saver, which is good as space is something we don’t have much of.

Meanwhile it is nearly time for my third quilting class, which I am really looking forward to. Quilting is fun to do and very satisfying. Our teacher is very easy to understand and incredibly patient. I like being with a group of people, working and chatting.  Great fun! So, here are my first two blocks. In a few days I should have a new one to add to the collection. I’m only doing a lap quilt so it will be nine blocks in all.

Unfortunately this photo is a little over exposed, but the pale colour is actually that colour, a pale cream.

2 Responses to “Time flies…”


  1. May 22, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    It looks wonderful so far. I know what you mean about vacuum bags…but I keep putting my nails through them an I have hardly any nails! I must be doing something wrong. Blankets and duvets etc take up so much room and I have also got quilts and throws as well. I know people who just pile everything on the spare bed ….but we do not have one. Glad you find the classes fun and it must be good for us over 50’s to learn a new skill. I do find it a great distraction as well…for whatever ails me!

  2. 2 kimmikat
    May 27, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Hello Kathleen 🙂
    I had all the spare quilts laid across the top of the spare bed and covered by a throw. But I wasn’t happy about that, as it doesn’t keep them clean (cats love a soft bed with multiple quilts!!), so I decided to try these bags. So far I haven’t put any nails through…I have short nails too…but it took quite a bit of practice to get the lids on or the gaps closed quickly enough. On some of them I had to try several times before I got it airtight and stiff!
    The classes are great. The company is good too.
    Susie.


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

