23
Apr
08

Purple magic

Well, in the post below, my friend commented that she wasn’t surprised one of my designs for a quilt was purple. As it happens I won’t be doing that particular design just yet. But I have been working on a cushion cover, which is purple. I have handsewn it, not being sure if I would be good at piecing everything together, but now that its just about right, I will re-enforce on the machine before adding the wadding and back panel. I am also going to put a plian cream frill around the edge. This is the cushion design, and I love the fabric combination so much that I really wish I had loads of it to make a full size quilt. I can’t even remember where some of it came from. It’s all from my stash!

This afternoon I went along to the local quilters shop to buy material for a quilt. I have signed up for a beginners class on Friday and they asked me to pop in and choose some fabric in time to get it washed ready for the class. Well….it’s like taking a kid to the candy store! All I can say, is thank goodness I knew what I wanted, colourwise  before I went. There was so much to choose from! I wanted to make a lap quilt in turquoise and brown. At one point there were three of us milling around pulling out bolts and scrutinising matches. Eventually we came up with a combination which will work really well I think. So…Friday is my first lesson, and I think it will be about rotary cutting and templates etc. Anyway, it will be a few weeks before I really get going, but watch this space for updates. The shop I went to in Aberdeen is amazing. Mary and Karen do lots of their own designs which you can buy in kit form. Have a look at their website at Patchwork Creations. It’s well worth a look and you might find yourself very tempted by one of their beautiful kits!

Meanwhile, here’s a couple of photos of the fabrics I chose, and the quilting tools I also bought. Unfortunately the photo doesn’t do justice to the fabrics, which are much more vibrant in real life, and the ivory looks more washed out than it really is.

 

Fabrics

 

 

Quilting aquisitions

 

5 Responses to “Purple magic”


  1. April 23, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Wow must say you sure go about things the right way…small project first then a quilt class. I taught myself from magazines I bought from the newsagents and it wasn’t til I went to my first quilt show that I realised how thin batting could be …if you only had a decent shop nearby or access to the internet…neither of which I had! Don’t need me to tell you to have fun…you have entered a whole new world where the people are unlike any others!

  2. 2 kimmikat
    April 23, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Hiya…yes I got the comment. They go to moderation first, so don’t worry 🙂
    Well my first lessons in quilting were from you…indirectly! I followed the links you gave me and read through and actually started a log cabin block. It wasn’t very good, so decided to leave that for a while, but it was you I have to thank for my first lessons and for encouraging me to surf the web for more lessons!
    Take care,
    Susie 🙂

  3. April 24, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Hi Susie, your fabric choices are beautiful! Good luck with the quilting class. I think you’ll love it. But be warned, it’s highly addictive, and the fabric stash will grow and grow. Your cushion is pretty too, so be sure to share a photo when it’s complete.

  4. 4 kimmikat
    April 25, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Hi Cheryl. I went to the class this afternoon and had a great time. Will report my progress later 🙂

  5. 5 wildgarlic
    August 22, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I LOVE purple too – looks great.


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

