20
Jan
08

Practice Makes Perfect

Over the last few days I have felt the need to create , and to draw in particular, so I have been busy with Artrage again and have produced some designs, and a couple of paintings.

Some days I don’t seem able to put a line right on the sheet (digital sheet that is), and I get down-hearted and think my efforts are worthless and all my practice will never result in anything as good as I’d like. Then a day or two later, I try again and the magic is there, and all the work has paid off, because I can draw something first or second time that took two or three days practice to achieve, a few weeks or a month ago. This always happens, but somehow when it all goes wrong, I don’t remember the pattern and become demoralised. It used to happen with my music too. I would practice a piece for hours, struggling with it and sometimes not managing to completely get it right. Then the next day I would pick up my instrument and play the piece through to the end without a mistake. So practising is worthwhile even if the benefits are not apparent immediately.

So what has my practising produced this time? Well, I did a little painting of a brookside, and an illustration of a duck. I remember struggling  to do a duck a few months ago. this time it was alot easier. I am quite pleased with the result.

duck-ed_wm.jpg

and the little brook…

by-the-stream-ed.jpg

1 Response to “Practice Makes Perfect”


  1. February 14, 2008 at 12:19 am

    ducky came out great! I know what you mean..I want to get back drawing. I’ve been told by a couple of people that the colored graphic pencils are great.

    I was looking at your side bar and laughed at THe Cat’s blog. LOL! Great idea. I have an extra blog I haven’t used yet.

    xx
    Judy


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

