15
Nov
07

Catch up Time

tree-of-life-with-black-background-lighted-ed.jpg

It’s a while since I’ve posted, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been creative. I have been writing, poems mostly, and the first chapter of a novel, for NaNoWriMo. I have to write a 50,000 word novel in a month, (by Nov 30th, 11.59pm). I haven’t given up, but having been full of cold I am obviously now way behind. When I am on a roll, I can write 5000-1000 words a day, so I am hoping that I will feel wired up again. If I don’t, it is not the end of the world. I can do Nano again next year. or write the book in between times, as I have it all planned out …I think!

So, whilst not feeling wonderful, I have done smaller projects, like christmas cards, and designs, and using my craft robo to make little goody boxes to hang on the christmas tree. I haven’t finished them yet, but I think they will be great when displayed.

I have been busy trying to illustrate my poems on my writing blog Inspirational Rainbows. Often I use photographs from the Creative commons section of Flickr, but I also try and incorporate some of my own artwork, either something I have already created, or work on something new, sort of custom made for the poem. The Illustration above is called The tree of life and I created it for a poem called Times Move on. It’s a poem about how peoples lives change  over time, and how, more than ever, we can now learn about those previous lives, tracing them online with the help of geealogy sites and family trees. I thought it appropriate to draw a tree with Peoples faces, thier jobs, and the a year date. There was a bit more to it, but I was pleased with the result. It was good to doodle with something like that, as I wasn’t feeling up to heavy concentration.

One of the projects I have been working on was christmas designs for printing and using to make the decorative little boxes for the christmas tree. I drew the poinsettia first, using Artrage 2 and then turned it into a repetitive design, making it a backing paper, ready to print off for the boxes. I ended up making quitea few similar designs…got carried away. It’s something I love doing.

poinsettia-flower-for-boxes-ed.jpg

back-ground-papers-for-blog-poinsettia-strip.jpg

copy-of-back-ground-papers-for-blog-holly-and-poinsettia.jpg

 and Holly

back-ground-papers-for-blog-holly-strip.jpg

©DF2007

2 Responses to “Catch up Time”


  1. November 23, 2007 at 12:03 am

    I hope you’re feeling a lot better now. How’s your novel coming along?

  2. 2 kimmikat
    November 23, 2007 at 3:15 am

    Thanks Kell. Yes, a little better, but still very tired. Started on the novel again today. 🙂


Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

