11
Oct
07

Georgia O’Keeffe.

okeefepoppiessmall.jpg

I have been listening to an audio book (it’s good when you are painting) all about Georgia O’Keeffe. Now, I don’t know why, but I have always been convinced that Georgia O’Keeffe was a comtemporary artist. I got quite a shock when I discovered that she had been born in 1887. Somehow her art has always resonated such a freshness that I assumed she was still painting. She lived to a ripe old age, 98, but didn’t quite make it to this century.

The audio is the reading of her biography,  Portrait of An Artist: A Biography of Georgia O’Keeffe, written by Laurie Lisle. I have only heard about a third of it, but am enjoying it immensly, and I’m already thinking about reading more books about her, albeit biographies, or writings about her art. She was a fascinating lady, ahead of her times in many ways; strong, independent, and yet somehow quite fragile. Anyway, here is what the publishers have written about Portrait of an Artist.:

 “Georgia O’Keeffe, one of the most original painters America has ever produced, left behind a remarkable legacy when she died at the age of 98. Her vivid visual vocabulary, sensuous flowers, bleached bones against red sky and earth, had a stunning, profound, and lasting influence on American art in this century. O’Keeffe’s personal mystique is as intriguing and enduring as her bold, brilliant canvasses. Here is the first full account of her exceptional life, from her girlhood and early days as a controversial art teacher to her discovery by the pioneering photographer of the New York avant-garde, Alfred Stieglitz, to her seclusion in the New Mexico desert, where she lived until her death. And here is the story of a great romance between the extraordinary painter and her much older mentor, lover, and husband, Alfred Stieglitz. Renowned for her fierce independence, iron determination, and unique artistic vision, Georgia O’Keeffe is a 20th century legend. Her dazzling career spans virtually the entire history of modern art in America.”

©1980 Laurie Lisle; (P)1995 Blackstone Audiobooks

( Pasted from http://www.audible.co.uk  )

There are lots more links to websites about Georgia O’Keeffe, and I will start listing them at the end of this post. Meanwhile, do a Google search and look at some of her work. I love it.

I shall continue this topic later.

One of my favourite links is this one, http://www.ellensplace.net/okeeffe2.html I love the way the information is displayed.

This next one …  http://hubcap.clemson.edu/~sparks/gokbib.html   is a bibliography, which I intend using to choose my next reads about her. It looks thorough, with biographies, articles, memoirs etc.

I will add some more next time.

 

240x240_bio_okeefe.jpg

0 Responses to “Georgia O’Keeffe.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!

