14
Jan
08

Gosh!!!

Look at this! I have just been sent this award.

award1.jpg

 I have no idea why…but it is very nice 🙂

Thank you Kell 🙂

Do you really want to know seven weird and interesting things about me?

This will take some head scratching. I am a very ordinary person – I think!

 OK, here we go…

1)   MISSED OPPORTUNITY.

Many moons ago, Roy Orbison asked me to join his backing band. I didn’t because I couldn’t. My parents would have killed me! My life may well have been totally different had I taken that job….ah well!

2)   TAKE-AWAY VIRGIN.

I had never had a take away meal…not even fish and chips, until I was in my thirties. Again, my parents did not approve of such things, which in fairness were in their infancy in those days, and later, when married and busy with four small children, the thought to order in food, when I was perfectly capable of cooking it, never entered my head. Things are a bit different these days. Like everyone else I enjoy take-aways and meals out and the odd bit of convenience food! Hey…life’s too short to be too picky!

3)   IT’S IN THE EYES!

My four children each have different eye colour. By that I don’t mean they have one blue eye and one brown, (DOH!) but that each person ‘s eyes are a different colour from their siblings! And they all have the same father…honest! No seriously, they do. I wonder how often that happens in families.

4)   SPARE PARTS.

 At the tender age of hmm hmmm, (oh alright), 53, I have had one full knee replacement and am going into hospital at the weekend to get the other knee replaced. They are not the only spare parts I possess, but I am not going to divulge the others! Sometimes I just feel like I’m falling apart at the seams, like an old teddy! Ahhhh!

5)   A MARMITE MOMENT.

Actually I have loads of these, as I love the stuff. Really love it. Always have. When I was at school, I used to take a couple of slices of cold toast with butter and marmite to eat at break. Everyone thought I was crazy. I mean cold toast? AND marmite! I loved it, and still eat cold toast and marmite to this day. Thanks Mum!

(How many more of these do I have to do. I told you I was very ordinary!!)

6)   A SHADE OF THE PAST

I once had a date with Katherine of Aragon – only she didn’t show! I use the word ‘show’ deliberately, because it was her shade or ghost I was expecting to see. Oh come on…you didn’t think I was that old, did you!!

I spent much of my childhood holidays in a village near St neots called Kimbolton. Now, this village has a castle and during the reign of Henry VIII the castle was used to incarcerate the ailing and heart-broken Katherine. It had to be better than her successor’s fate, but I doubt Katherine was very enamoured. The castle has been a public school for many years, and as children related to staff we were allowed to roam the castle and it’s grounds during the school holidays. I spent a lot of time waiting for Katherine to show, as she reputedly haunts one of the passages, but she was busy elsewhere and I never saw here. Pity…but there you go. You can find out about Katherine’s stay at the castle by clicking on her regal head!

katherine1.jpg

and lastly…

7)   FAME…BUT NOT SO GLORIOUS!

I had my photograph taken whilst at Wimbledon…during the tennis fortnight. I was on a school trip and we were waiting for Rosie Cassals to come out on court. A Photographer working for the Radio Times snapped me! A bit unfortunate, as I had my skirt hitched up, well over my knees…it was the custom to wear mini-skirts in those days, and it wasn’t until later that I realised why my parents had been so cool about it. The fame…that is. They used to send me out to school every morning with my skirt two inches below my knees. Just goes to show that you never know when you will get caught out!

I hope that has made you feel you know me a wee bit better. A little insight into my cosy world. Aren’t you lucky!

Thank you again, Kell (I think). I will now nominate four bloggers for the coveted award. This will need some more head scratching…back in a mo…  

My first nomination will be Holly A. Harvey, http://www.hollyaharvey.co.uk/blog/

2) Maritza Baird for her sensational blog at http://capturedspirits.com/

3)  Entropy, A blog a little like my own Inspirational Rainbows –  http://mybanyantree.wordpress.com/

4) ‘Izabel’ at http://www.izabelmoreira.blogspot.com/

Whew! Glad that’s finished. Better try and do some blogging now!


2 Responses to “Gosh!!!”


  1. January 14, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    See – I TOLD you that there were interesting things about you! I really enjoyed reading that. 🙂

  2. 2 kimmikat
    January 14, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    My goodness! You’re quick. I’ve only just finished! Thanks anyway. Glad you enjoyed it
    Hugs, Susie.


Leave a comment


okeeffe8.jpg Cat mad, but love dogs too! Purple fanatic but... More about me, here!
January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Everyclick

Hi, I’ve started using a great new search engine that raises money for charity, every time you search the web. I'm supporting CAVYRESCUE

It doesn't cost you a penny, and you can support any UK charity you like. Join me: http://www.everyclick.com

Go on give it a try...it's a great way to help every day. Susie

Total raised for charity: £414,955.95 www.everyclick.com

Search the web and raise money for the charity of your choice.

Click to Mix and Solve

1117 / 50000 stitches 2% done!